Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Ash catcher question from a new guy  (Read 1812 times)

AJ328

• Smokey Joe
Ash catcher question from a new guy
« on: May 15, 2014, 04:47:38 PM »
Hey guys I'm new around here and I'm just getting into kettles (just bought a third one, Green OTG). In looking over the different generations of kettles I can't help but notice that the old style ash catcher (the twist one) seemed a lot studier and with fewer failure points on it. I know from experience the spring clips rust and snap and it just seems a solid piece is better.

Am I wrong in thinking this? Was there some hidden flaw to it? If I'm right, why would Weber change to this design?

-AJ

MINIgrillin

• WKC Ranger
Re: Ash catcher question from a new guy
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2014, 04:49:05 PM »
Bean counters
Seville. CnB performer:blue,green,gray. 26r. 18otg. Karubeque C-60.

jimmy_dong

• WKC Brave
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2014, 05:41:30 PM »
^ that, hippies, and lazy people.

addicted-to-smoke

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2014, 05:51:12 PM »
Before selling it, my only Weber with spring clips sat outside, uncovered for 10 years and the clips looked and worked like new.

My only experience with twist ash catcher is on my dad's '75 (18.5") and it's always a PITA to remove it, and is a little too easily bent.
It's the iconic symbol for the backyard. It's family/friends, food and fun. What more do you need to feel everything [is] going to be all right. As long as we can still have a BBQ in our backyard, the world seems a bit of a better place. At least for that moment. -reillyranch

AJ328

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2014, 10:08:52 AM »
Before selling it, my only Weber with spring clips sat outside, uncovered for 10 years and the clips looked and worked like new.

My only experience with twist ash catcher is on my dad's '75 (18.5") and it's always a PITA to remove it, and is a little too easily bent.