Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Dome Temp Vs. Grate Temp for Smoking  (Read 4440 times)

clfergus

• Happy Cooker
Dome Temp Vs. Grate Temp for Smoking
« on: May 06, 2014, 11:55:03 AM »
I am new to smoking on my Weber Performer Kettle and have a few questions. I ran a dry run today to see about my temp control. I started with about 12 unlit coals in my weber basket on one side of the grill. I heated up another 12-15 in my chinmey and dumped them on the unlit coals along with 2 chunks of apple wood I am planning on using for ribs this weekend.

Place my Maverick bbq thermomenter prob on the cooking grate using the clip, placed a pan of hot water on the cooking grate and closed the lid. Initially I had both vents wide open and the temp on the dome thermometer got upwards of 300 degrees. The Maverick Therm never got above 279. I closed the bottom vents down to half way and no change in temp. So I closed them down to 1/4 open and the top vents to about half. The temp leveled off at around 265 grate level and 289 with the dome.

Is this normal? If I take the Maverick Therm that its correct that should be perfect right. Wonder why the dome is 25 degrees higher?

My plan now would be to check my temps every hour and if I see a drop to add 6-8 more coals.

Just wondering about the temp.

One Touch Platinum

• WKC Brave
Re: Dome Temp Vs. Grate Temp for Smoking
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2014, 04:49:17 PM »