Weber Kettle Club Forums

Cooking & Food Talk => Charcoal Grilling & BBQ => Topic started by: Ken Mc on November 18, 2012, 07:12:42 AM

Title: need help with turkey
Post by: Ken Mc on November 18, 2012, 07:12:42 AM
Hey all, I need some help with the cooking of a turkey. I have never done it before so I have no idea.
My main questions are:
1:  how to set up the coals. I was thinking about putting a 18" wsm charcoal ring in and loading coals around the outside, with water pan in the middle underneath for drippings.
2: cooking a 16 pound bird, so about how long? ( it should be around 48 degrees that day)
3: what temp? I was thinking around 325/350
ANY help would be greatly appreciated.
Oh, and yes, using a kettle..lol..(2005 Performer)

Ken
Title: Re: need help with turkey
Post by: 1buckie on November 18, 2012, 10:16:36 AM
You're on the right track.....
Keep the temp up higher like you're planning, it will then get a cripiness to the skin that you can't get at lower temps....
If you want to make gravy, don't use water in your pan, start with chicken stock, the flavor isn't affected very much & it will create a good base to go from.....

Edit: This next part is for doing the turkey right down IN THE PAN ~~~>
( I read back over this & thought it might not be too clear...)

I don't have any pics, 'cause I haven't done this in a few years, due to the wife & others' wanting to do things "their" way, but for years, I've used an old steel pan (no plastic or rubber handles)& set it down on the charcoal grate, with coals all around.....
Wrap the wingtips & leg ends w/ foil to prevent burning, also a foil strip around the front of the breast at the lip of the pan up about two or so inches, to protect from the higher heat.....

Set on celery stalks (across the short way in the pan, to raise it up a bit off the bottom) & fill the pan up most of the way w/ chicken stock & spices....re-fill as it cooks down....