Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: I may add a pellet smoker to my quiver. Give me your best tips and advice  (Read 5038 times)

cdp8

• WKC Brave
I've been smoking with WSMs for twenty years. First with an 18, then with a 22 when they came out in 2008. I find I don't use it as often as I would like because it's become an undertaking. I've looked at pellet smokers before, but never pulled the trigger because of a lack of smokiness. I've eaten many meals off of friends' Traegers that, while delicious, lacked the smokiness I love. I was looking at the Smokefire Sear+ 24, when I came across the Camp Chef Woodwind Pro 24. The smoke box feature and stainless construction tips the scale in favor of the WWPro. I'll likely pick it up tomorrow morning.

I know there are some pellet users in WKC. What do I need to know as a first-time pellet user?
« Last Edit: April 14, 2023, 03:06:37 PM by cdp8 »

bamakettles

• WKC Ambassador
I may add a pellet smoker to my quiver. Give me your best tips and advice
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2023, 03:57:24 PM »
I would watch some Meat Church videos on YouTube.  Matt Pittman makes some pretty good looking food on his Traeger Timberline.  I too wanted to try a pellet grill, mainly out of curiosity.  I went through two Spider 22s before getting a good one and I also have an Asmoke portable model that works well.  I’m very green when it comes to pellet grills so the only advice I have is to keep the pellets dry.  Maybe others will have more / better guidance.

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club
« Last Edit: April 14, 2023, 04:25:45 PM by bamakettles »

michaelmilitello

• WKC Performer
Mad scientist bbq YouTube channel has many good videos for pit and pellet selection.   He’s coming from traditional offsets from a flavor perspective but interestingly, recommended the wsm as the best compromise between convenience and flavor.