Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Royal Oak Lump in Smokey Joe  (Read 5485 times)

adunkle

• Happy Cooker
Royal Oak Lump in Smokey Joe
« on: July 12, 2013, 06:17:55 PM »
Hello Everyone,
      I am new to charcoal and this website. I have converted from gas. Sorry, said the G word. I recently bought a smokey joe and I am using Royal Oak lump. It seems to burn out quickly. I use about a half chimney during a cook. I have the smokey joe silver and it has one vent. Am I using too much charcoal? I am thinking about making a charcoal grate out of expanded metal so the coals can't fall through. I can get a good 15 minutes and then the heat dies off quickly. You input would be appreciated.

Aaron

landgraftj

• WKC Performer
Re: Royal Oak Lump in Smokey Joe
« Reply #1 on: July 12, 2013, 06:28:39 PM »
Aaron I've never used lump but I think it's meant to burn hotter and faster than briquettes...hopefully someone will chime in for you. I'd think that 1/2 a chimney may be too little to keep an extended fire. I also believe (correct me if I'm wrong guys) that lump takes a bit longer to light.
Not everyone deserves to know the real you. Let them criticize who they think you are.

G

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2013, 03:23:35 AM »
Im no expert but I have been experimenting with lump lately.  Lump seems to heat fast and burn out fast.  I would think a half chimney should give you more than 15 minutes of heat though.  Ive found that lump lights faster than briqs so you could be leaving it in the chimney longer than needed which may be losing the heat before you get it in your joe.  Also, lump tends to load very unevenly in the chimney so even though your chimney is 1/2 full, you may not have as much as you think in it.  Keep experimenting....hope this helps....

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #3 on: July 13, 2013, 07:48:20 AM »

Some things I've noticed about lump: