Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Which size Weber kettle to complement a Pit Barrel Cooker for versatility?  (Read 954 times)

thornsbreak

• Happy Cooker
Hey guys, I'm brand new to the sport here, and just about to make my first purchase with some housewarming gift money.  I'm eager to both smoke and grill, and to have a really flexible setup.  I've pretty much sold myself on the Pit Barrel Cooker for big and easy bbq smoking, but it seems like I'll need a kettle grill to really round out my cooking options.  So the question is: 22 inch or 26 inch Weber as the best complement to the PBC?  AND, if I get the 26 incher, which slow n sear do you recommend?  Original cheapie, 2.0 with removable water tray, or the big mutha?

I cook mainly for me and my wife (currently on a TINY picnic masterbuilt piece of junk at ground level).  I imagine we'll have friends over from time to time, but I don't foresee cooking for the whole block or anything.  But I do like to cook and have leftovers. I plan to both grill and smoke, and cook whole meals on the grates.  I'd like to use the weber sometimes for the more temp-controlled slow n low burn than the Pit Barrel Cooker can offer.  I'm really excited to do some serious bbq, including racks of ribs and full size briskets and boston butts.  But I also frequently cook burgers, chicken thighs, steaks, etc.

I had previously settled on the 22 inch Deep Ocean Blue Master Touch, a real beauty.  I like the extra height it has over the standard 22 inchers, which seem annoyingly short.  I don't think I'd ever really use the removable Gourmet bbq system circle thingy in the middle, and might actually find that piece annoying compared to a regular grate with just the foldable charcoal access sides.  And I just LOVE that color.