Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: lump or briquettes  (Read 1665 times)

gobirds11

• Happy Cooker
lump or briquettes
« on: February 22, 2020, 06:15:49 AM »
So I am new to using a weber kettle and I have used mine twice so far with royal oak lump charcoal. I just ordered the charcoal baskets so the first two cooks I just stacked the charcoal against the side of the kettle to get two zones going. My question is, is it okay to put lump charcoal on the side of the grill like that? Or do I risk it cracking or messing something up. I was also grilling in 30 degree weather so I'm not sure if that would have anything to do with it. Has anyone ever had any problems using lump charcoal like that before? I assumed that it would be perfectly fine but I recently read a forum where someones was cracked and the warranty didn't cover it. Thanks!

bbqking01

• WKC Ranger
lump or briquettes
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2020, 06:20:18 AM »
When you say cracked, are you talking about the bottom kettle? I’ve never heard of the bottom part cracking. I’ve had kettles for years and have never seen a cracked one. I suppose it could, but would maybe take extreme temp changes rather quickly, as for lump or briquettes, I don’t have a strong opinion either way. I have always used briquettes, I’m able to gauge temp and time with them. I’m sure using lump one could do the same thing.

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club
« Last Edit: February 22, 2020, 06:25:18 AM by bbqking01 »

kettlebb

• WKC Ambassador
Re: lump or briquettes
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2020, 06:29:55 AM »
He might be taking about the bowl crazing which can happen without using baskets.

My advice, use baskets for your cooks unless you run a snake for low and slow. Also, careful with lump charcoal. It can fall through the coal grate and then bind up the ash sweeps when you try to use them.