Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: - UPDATED - Blue SS and a few questions.  (Read 4760 times)

Bman

• WKC Performer
- UPDATED - Blue SS and a few questions.
« on: April 30, 2013, 03:35:13 PM »
Long story short, but I threw Stavlund a bone (free black ss) from CL last weekend.  He put a friend of his on it and brought er' home.  Said I had "kettle karma" coming my way.  I'm still in the market for a SS, and prefer blue since my new-school Performer is blue.  Today, he sent me a link for an estate sale including a blue SS.  Shit-yeah!  Since I'm still learning, I have a few questions about this bad boy.

1) What would you pay for this thing?  If the gas doesn't work, that'll be a nice bargaining chip.  But I hope it does work.
2) Chimney starter?  Is that because the gas assist doesn't work?
3) This is the older style ash ring/bucket, correct?  IE - replacement parts aren't available (unless I fit a new style ring/catcher)
4) What is that accessory on the bottom shelf next to the ol' school charcoal baskets? (the one under the grill brush)  Don't think I've seen that flat 'basket' before.
5) Anything else?
« Last Edit: May 04, 2013, 10:57:35 AM by Bman »
I've always had gas...  And now a bunch of kettles because of this place.  Thanks!

mike.stavlund

• WKC Performer
    • MikeStavlund.com
Re: Blue SS and a few questions.
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2013, 03:51:46 PM »
If you're looking for bargaining chips, then yeah, those are all potentially catastrophic problems to point out while you're kicking the tires. 

But if it's just among us friends here, I'm thinking that this kettle is in great shape and will work just fine for you, as is.