Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Here's the fitting you need to swap for modern propane tanks-Old Genesis bbq's  (Read 2247 times)

AZ Monsoon

• WKC Ranger
This is my first time digging into a Weber gasser and had to do a little research to figure out this fitting swap. Here's the info for the next person that comes along looking to do the same thing.

You need an 11/16th deep socket most likely to get the job done. I also used some thread pipe sealant because I had it around. I hand tightened the first time and could hear the propane leaking. Turns out there's a nut down there you can get your ratchet on. I drew an arrow on the 2nd picture so you can see what I mean.

The good news is the burner tubes work on the Genesis Jr I bought :)

Here's the Amazon link. I bought mine at ACE as I enjoy being taken advantage of price wise (in other words I didn't feel like waiting 2 days). https://www.amazon.com/Mr-Heater-Propane-4-Inch-Thread/dp/B000BQT5H2/ref=sr_1_1?s=lawn-garden&ie=UTF8&qid=1471543387&sr=1-1&keywords=mr+heater+f276495

If you don't want to mess with it, it looks like you can get the whole hose and regulator kit through Weber Part #7503: http://store.weber.com/items/detail/1364

Regulator with old fitting attached

« Last Edit: August 18, 2016, 10:30:52 AM by AZ Monsoon »

blksabbath

• WKC Ranger
Cool!  I need to do that on one of my turkey fryer burners.  It has the internal connection and it's a pain to switch tanks on the fly while brewing beer.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

OGlenn

• WKC Ranger
This is my first time digging into a Weber gasser and had to do a little research to figure out this fitting swap. Here's the info for the next person that comes along looking to do the same thing.

You need an 11/16th deep socket most likely to get the job done. I also used some thread pipe sealant because I had it around.