Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Need some advice on timing a 6.5lb butt  (Read 3627 times)

Mr.CPHo

• WKC Mod
Need some advice on timing a 6.5lb butt
« on: July 13, 2016, 10:00:38 AM »
Hi, everyone. 

This will be my first real cook on my new 18.5 WSM and I could use some practical advice on timing my cook.  I have 6.5 pound butt in the fridge and I'm wondering when I should start my cook if I'm targeting an approximate 7p.m. dinner time tomorrow.  I'd like to build in a "resting" period in a makeshift cambro too.  I know it's a pretty open-ended question, so please forgive the newbie question. 

Yes, promise I'll get pics!

kettlebb

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Need some advice on timing a 6.5lb butt
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2016, 10:16:28 AM »
I'm still a newbie to this as well but I'd say plan for 1-1.5 hours per pound.  You'll want an internal temp of 205.  I have a butt that I'm doing this Saturday, I'm planning on using a full unlit basket of Stubb's, and then lighting 10 briquettes and placing them on the unlit pile.  I'll use peach wood from my trees and some dry rub.  I'll be putting mine on at 7 am and I'll take it off around 5.  I plan to let mine rest for 1.5 hours before pulling it.
Looking for: Red MBH 26"(The Aristocrat), Chestnut-coppertone (The Estate), Glen-blue (The Imperial), and The Plainsman.

56MPG

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #2 on: July 13, 2016, 10:26:51 AM »
First of all YMMV applies here. So many variables, but I have miscalculated a few times due to the following:

1. Not accounting for the time it takes for the cooker to come up to temp and stabilize. I plan on an hour+ for that alone.
2. Not using hot water in the pan, making #1 take that much longer. Water in the pan - then light the coals. (I know, some people are not water people, but I like it)
3. Forgetting to flip and turn the shoulder now and then - every time you poke it with a therm.