Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Slow and sear questions  (Read 2017 times)

Unclesean

• Happy Cooker
Slow and sear questions
« on: October 22, 2015, 05:09:15 AM »
First of all I think this product is a  great accessory to have for the weber kettle. Im still new to using it and I do have a couple questions.  Im using the slow and sear on a weber original professional 22 inch kettle.  My first time cooking with it was with a pork butt for pulled pork and it came out a little too smokey, probably my fault as I was a little heavy on the wood though it produced a heavy white/grey smoke through majority of the cook.  I am currently smoking a brisket sitting pretty at 230F although I am having a tough time getting that thin blue smoke that is so desirable when smoking meats. Its that thick white/grey smoke that I think is going to add a harsh taste to the meat. The same smoke that occured while smoking my pork butt.  Is there anything I can do to limit this. I started a few briquettes in the corner of my slow and sear, let them get nice and hot, then added more briquettes and chunk wood on top like I've seen in tutorials for this accessory.  I believe this smoke occurs when the charcoal doesnt burn hot enough, I play with the vents but I cant seem to figure it out.  Anybody else having this issue, any suggestions?
Thanks a lot!

MrHoss

• WKC Performer
Re: Slow and sear questions
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2015, 05:29:02 AM »
If the chunk of wood you have is too big it will burn dirty. I have the best of luck with chunks half the size of my fist. If the wood you are using is not properly seasoned it will burn dirty.

I give a chunk of wood 5 minutes tops to get clean then I will pull it out with tongs. Better to have no wood than dirty smoke all over the food I say.