Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Stacker Mod  (Read 13375 times)

Lumpy Coal

• WKC Ranger
Stacker Mod
« on: August 30, 2015, 02:43:00 AM »
So I've been working on a stacker mod, not sure if I'm quite finished or not but I thought I'd post it anyways. 

I've wanted a WSM for like, EVER but never seems to be in the budget. I've looked at things like the cajun bandit and like it but as someone else stated in a recent thread that "for the price(especially Canadian)I would rather hold off for a WSM".  I've also thought about making something similar as I am a machinist/welder and have access to equipment. For this project/mod I didn't want it to be something only people with trade skills/shop equipment could make but rather anybody could do with minimal tooling and place to work(I did it in my back yard...no garage).  So I bit the bullet and did it with what I had to work with at home, enjoyed it, it works, and it's a bit if a conversation piece. 

What tools I had to work with at home...average home tools, jigsaw, hammer, drill, rivet gun, etc.

Material I had to work with....

First, laid out the cut...

Cut out with jigsaw...

Cut vertical slits to allow for be bending...

This was all done to both bowl and lid to match.  Then clamped together and drilled holes in mating parts for rivets. 

Then, using fireplace window gasket ($12 at Rona) with adhesive back, I attached it around the outside of the rivet holes but enough that would be sandwiched between the two pieces.  I would have liked to have it go further in the joint but I figured it'd be a pain getting the rivets through.  Also, I did think about welding but like I said I wanted anyone to be able to do it.  Also, I did think about using a high heat sealant but went with this instead (builder's choice). 

I then removed the handle from the scrap lid piece and riveted it to the side opposite the already existing handle.