Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: First Plug-in Therm?  (Read 2489 times)

MartyG

• WKC Performer
First Plug-in Therm?
« on: January 18, 2013, 05:24:44 AM »
I use a stick therm now, (and I need a new one of those too) but am interested in a remote plug in. I know there are a lot of opinions, but I'm curious: what would you recommend for someone who is not a competition cooker, and rarely has more than a single grill going? I see a lot of them in photos people are posting, so help me out. What to buy? What NOT to buy? What to ask for for my birthday?

Thanks!

Marty

HankB

• WKC Performer
Re: First Plug-in Therm?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 06:25:23 AM »
I have a Maverick ET-73 and ET-732 and am happy with both. I've been using the ET-73 for a couple years now and have not had any problems with it. Most of the use is in a smoker in which I have installed eyelets so there is little stress on the leads. I do occasionally use them on a kettle and in that application, I run the meat probe under the lid and simply dangle the cooker probe through the top vent.

The important difference between the two is the temperature range. The ET-73 has a max reading of 410º F and much more than that risks damage to the probe. This range is adequate for smoking but if you're looking to get cooker temp on a kettle it may not be enough. The ET-732 can read over 500º and resists damage up to 716º F. The ET-732 is also supposed to have better range and does not require you to open the battery compartment to turn the remote on.

Of course the most important thing is that the ET-732 comes in colors. I paid $2 extra to get "special edition black."  ;D