Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: 22in vs 26in  (Read 19038 times)

WKCTodd

• Smokey Joe
22in vs 26in
« on: May 27, 2015, 07:47:40 AM »
Hi everyone.  I'm new to kettles and have been obsessed with Weber kettles for just about a year now.  I've bought some mini versions for my patio but I'm looking to buy a full size kettle very soon.  I've been toying with the idea of buying a 26in version.  Any thoughts of pros and cons of 22vs26in?  I'm sure this questions has been answered already.  If so, where can I find the post?

Thanks-Todd

indy82z

• WKC Ranger
Re: 22in vs 26in
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2015, 07:54:31 AM »
I just recently picked up a...errr....3....26" Flat tops. I have cooked on 22's for quite a while. The real estate difference between the two is REALLY nice. The obvious con is the 26 is more expensive, but other than that, I think you would be hard pressed to find another con of the 26. Super impressed with the 26....I can see not using a 22 again after seeing all the room I have on the 26. Of course I am also the "weird" guy,  as my wife puts it, that fires up the 26 to heat up only a couple of brats...yep...I like it that much.

So, in a nutshell, both 22's and 26's are awesome, but if you can afford or locate a 26, the real estate advantage is really nice.

WKCTodd

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2015, 08:02:54 AM »
Wow thanks for the super fast reply.  You said you purchased flat tops...  Is that a 26in kettle grill with like a griddle/flat top style grilling surface?  Another question, does it take more charcoal to bring the 26in to temperature in comparison to the 22?  Oh and do most members on this forum buy kettles used or what?  Seems like there is a whole new lifestyle to Weber kettle grills that I've just embarked upon...

thanks again, this is very helpful. 

GregS

• WKC Performer
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2015, 08:04:00 AM »