Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Avoiding food poisoning  (Read 2827 times)

Altissimus

• Happy Cooker
Avoiding food poisoning
« on: July 16, 2014, 11:57:06 AM »
Hey,

So I recently purchased a 57cm one-touch premium and have enjoyed using it the last couple of evenings.  But I'm paranoid about giving my family/friends/guest food poisoning due to technique or insufficient cleaning.  I'm an experienced cook that knows about general meat sanitation, but I'm unsure about some elements of barbecuing safety.  Specifically:

Cleaning - I have a wire brush I use to clean the grill. I understand that you can kill bacteria by heating the grill hot enough before using it to cook, and using the wire brush to clean the grill.  What temperature is necessary to ensure this approach is safe?  Does bacteria remain on the brush?  Can you rely exclusively on this method for sanitation between cooks, over a period of numerous meals on different days?  Is there more to this process I need to understand?

I would like to avoid having to soap-and-water clean the grill where it's safe to do so, as this would significantly reduce the amount of times I can barbecue due to time.

Thanks for the answers :)

Oh...and hi :)

A

irv39

• WKC Brave
Re: Avoiding food poisoning
« Reply #1 on: July 16, 2014, 02:37:52 PM »
I don't clean mine I just get to temp. and bush it, its seasoning, say if your cooking chicken at say 350 that will kill any bacteria, wouldn't worry about it, if your cooking chicken just make sure you cook until chicken reaches  170-180 I have never got sick, I just make sure what im cooking that it reaches temp.

AJ328

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #2 on: July 16, 2014, 03:59:36 PM »