Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Controlling temperature of a kettle  (Read 334 times)

MapleLeaf.kettle

• Smokey Joe
Controlling temperature of a kettle
« on: May 19, 2021, 04:40:39 PM »
Hello everyone, I am new to cooking with the kettle, there’s been something that lingers in my mind about controlling temperatures and maybe someone could help provide some insight.

If I cook indirect with a 2 zone fire with a whole chimney of briquettes banked to one side, meat on the other side with the vent over the meat, I get around 350.

When I do 3 zone fire, full chimney maybe 325

Now, how is it that I see some videos of someone starting with a small amount of lit coals, maybe 1/4 chimney, 25-30 briquettes or even just using a torch to light some up and getting temps of 325+

Am I doing something wrong? I’ve never been good at science, but I thought if you can get 225-250 with 5 lit coals, how is it that I am doing a whole chimney and only getting 350? It seems I’m using more than necessary.

Is it the amount of food? Is it because I cook direct sometimes? My vents are always wide open and at times it seems that it struggles to stay at the 325+ range. I’ve literally never had to adjust my dampers which seems a bit odd to me.

I don’t mind using charcoal, but it’s about the ability to control the temps and somewhat master it. That way I could replicate it every time, instead of arbitrarily pouring briquettes in the chimney and praying, it’d be nice to know how to use fuel effectively.

Sorry for the long read thank you for your time.
« Last Edit: May 19, 2021, 04:47:26 PM by MapleLeaf.kettle »

HoosierKettle

• WKC Ambassador
Controlling temperature of a kettle
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2021, 05:19:09 PM »