Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Temperature control lessons...explain it to me like I'm 5?  (Read 350 times)

brucemcclure

• Smokey Joe
    • My company's website
Temperature control lessons...explain it to me like I'm 5?
« on: June 15, 2021, 02:08:39 PM »
Alrighty, I'm going to throw myself on the mercy of the forum here as I'm far from an expert when it comes to properly operating my kettle. Granted, I've made a couple of good meals on it (basic stuff...burgers/dogs, a steak, chicken breast), but I'm struggling to understand temperature control, venting, etc. I'm looking for suggestions on how to keep a constant temp in my grill, etc. as I want to--in the near future--smoke a rack or two of ribs. Some things of note about what I do...
  • I use Kingsford Competition Briquets and seem to like them. They burn damn hot, from what I can tell.
  • Each time I've grilled, I've loaded the charcoal baskets with new briquets over the ones I used from the last burn.
  • I load the two charcoal baskets each time. Is this giving me too much heat (remember, I'm a newb to this stuff)?
  • In cooking dinner tonight, I found that, after loading the two baskets and firing it up, I obtained a pretty hot temp (near 500F) and it stayed there, even after closing the vents all the way (and I have no idea why...except to say I use too much charcoal?)
I have to say, The Bride™ and The 12-Year Old Girl To Whom I am Related By Marriage™ have told me I've done a great job feeding them since I got the grill, but I know I can step it up.

Soooooo...can anyone give me a lesson and explain it to me like I'm 5? I'm an interior designer, not a BBQ expert. I joined this forum to become the latter!
I’m just happy to be here. Hope I can help the ball club. I just want to give it my best shot, and the good Lord willing, things will work out.

DougWilsonsSlapper

• WKC Brave
Re: Temperature control lessons...explain it to me like I'm 5?