Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Weber baskets maintaining temp  (Read 256 times)

flynnpsu

• Happy Cooker
Weber baskets maintaining temp
« on: February 21, 2021, 05:57:22 PM »
I am very new to this so this may be dumb. I got some Weber baskets and was smoking some wings this afternoon. It was going fine but the temp floored when the wings were at like 150. I had to throw them in the oven.

I have had success with chicken and indirect grilling without the baskets (just putting all coals to one side). I had a full chimney of coals. It was also like 20 degrees when I was cooking so that might be it? Has anyone else had this problem with the basket?

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Weber Kettle Club mobile app

Kneab

• WKC Performer
Re: Weber baskets maintaining temp
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2021, 06:31:58 PM »
We need more information.
What charcoal were you using?
Where were the baskets, middle of the grill?
How long was the charcoal preheating the grill before food was placed on the grate?
How often was lid lifted?

Normally I cook wings with a homemade vortex that holds about the same amount of charcoal as the baskets. I have used the baskets as well. Either way the coals go in tbe middle of the grill, the grate goes on and a block of hickory goes on top centered over the coals. A full chimney of lump can cook wings in as little as 40 minutes and a full chimney of Weber charcoal will take me about 50. I put them on let them cook about 25 minutes and then flip 1 time. With lump I pull them off 15 minutes later regular briquettes 20 to 25 minutes.

Sent from my SM-G960U using Weber Kettle Club mobile app
ISO Brown Go Anywhere

Thundermtn

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #2 on: February 21, 2021, 06:50:46 PM »