Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Hello from Tampa!  (Read 647 times)

cstamper

• Happy Cooker
Hello from Tampa!
« on: December 18, 2019, 07:35:00 AM »
I've been hanging out here for a while just lurking, and learning, and taking it all in. I'm just getting started with all of this so my stable is not large nor very impressive but it is what it is. I have a gas Dyna-Glo (https://dynaglogrill.com/product/smart-space-living-3-burner-lp-gas-grill-dgb390snp-ddgb390bnp-d/) 3-burner grill that I use mostly for quick grilling like chicken breasts, kielbasa, burgers, etc. or when I don't feel like firing up the charcoal. I have a 22" Weber kettle and I love it now that I know how to use it. I also have a Masterbuilt MES 130. I know, I know, it's not a real smoker but it works fine for what I'm doing and it's mostly just the two of us. I've done some great ribs, spatchcocked turkeys, small brisket flats, etc. I use pellets instead of chips for the smoke and that seems to work better. Obviously, I don't get the extensive smoke ring that a stick smoker would produce, but the flavor is there.

Last night I smoked a quick chicken in the kettle using the snake method for the first time. It worked relatively well although I wasn't able to get it up to the temp I wanted even with both vents open (stayed in the 225 - 250 range). It took a little longer but it was only me so it worked out great and the flavor and juiciness was phenomenal.

I have a Smokey Joe on the way and I'm going to build a mini WSM (as well as using it for grilling - it seems like the 22" is a bit much for just the two of us for charcoal grilling only and sometimes you want that charcoal taste but don't want to use that many briquettes). I've attached a quick shot of last night's bird since it seems everybody on here enjoys pics.

Glad to be here and looking forward to learning more!

« Last Edit: December 18, 2019, 07:41:48 AM by cstamper »

JEBIV