Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: My first Boston Butt! Needs tweaking.  (Read 466 times)

WVGriller

• Happy Cooker
My first Boston Butt! Needs tweaking.
« on: April 27, 2019, 05:00:36 PM »
Greetings all!
I'm new to charcoal grilling, got my kettle a week ago, decided to try smoking a boston butt today,.
Last night I brined it.
Using snake method with applewood chips.
Started 8am finished 6pm, tried to keep temp right at 230.
Temp was 225 - 240, rotated the butt 180 degrees at noon.
4pm pork hit 160, I put it in an aluminum tray added small amount acv and apple juice and covered with foil,  raised grill temp to 350 till butt hit 200 @ 6pm.
Rested 1 hour in a cooler.

Turned out great meat fell apart but honestly was a little too moist for my preference, pan was pretty full of juices when done, tasted great family loved it!

Next time when doing final heat I think I might vent it? Any suggestions?
Thanks!

Brine was
4 cups applejuice
2 cups acv
1/4 Worcestershire sauce
1/4 brown sugar
1/4 salt

Rub was mustard for binder & sweet rub o mine
Tray in bottom of grill was apple juice with some acv for humidity.

Sent from my SM-G892U using Weber Kettle Club mobile app
« Last Edit: April 27, 2019, 05:36:57 PM by WVGriller »

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador
Re: My first Boston Butt! Needs tweaking.
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2019, 05:46:33 PM »
Curious that "too moist" would be a thing.....I'm usually fighting the "too dry" fight !!!

Did you rest it in the covered pan, in the juice?
If so, maybe try wrapping in a couple layers of foil, tightly, old clean towel around that & into the cooler....."the internal moisture will then even out all thru the piece....
Personally, I'll go 1-1/2 hrs. min. rest period.......perhaps pour a little of the juice in the package before resting & save all the rest of it to add in if it does seem a tad drier than you'd like to serve.