Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Brisket - Where and what to buy?  (Read 1479 times)

mcgolden

• WKC Ranger
Brisket - Where and what to buy?
« on: November 30, 2017, 05:35:05 AM »
So, I'm not new to doing briskets, but I'm no expert either.  I'm looking to do at least 1 packer over the holidays and wanted to get some input on what and where to buy.  I'm debating between Prime vs. Choice.  If I recall, Sams and Walmart typically only sell Choice.  I think Costco sells Prime, but I don't have a membership and it's a bit of a drive for me. So it probably wouldn't be worth getting a membership.  So long story short, does Prime vs Choice matter much for packer briskets, and does anyone know a good place to buy good, reasonably priced briskets?  Any input appreciated.

Thanks.

Mike in Roseville

• WKC Performer
Re: Brisket - Where and what to buy?
« Reply #1 on: November 30, 2017, 07:10:02 AM »
Both Prime and Choice from the larger stores should run you around $2-$3 per lb. You can also see if there is a good butcher in your area that sources quality meat (it may be a little more $ per lb).

Here in California, one local supermarket has Choice at $6-7 per lb (which is a little insane). It may be a different situation in Iowa, but out here, most grocery stores don't sell a lot of brisket because people don't eat it (which is probably why its more expensive). Honestly, the reason I buy Prime? Costco is about a mile away and the only place I have found around this part of California that routinely carries full packers. I am actually thinking of doing a brisket this weekend.

Does Prime vs. Choice matter much for briskets? From what I have read and experienced, not really. Some say the Prime packers typically cook a little faster and hold moisture a little better (but I can't confirm that). Conversely, I have heard some people use a little beef broth when wrapping their Choice briskets.

nitis

• WKC Brave