Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Maintaining temps ?  (Read 1359 times)

robs2

• WKC Brave
Maintaining temps ?
« on: September 21, 2017, 04:27:14 PM »
Newbie here. Tomorrow, I'll need to maintain 350-400 degrees on my Performer for 3.5+ hours. Will be using Weber briquettes.

Any tips on how best to accomplish this?

Sent from my iPhone using Weber Kettle Club

Travis

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Maintaining temps ?
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2017, 04:55:23 PM »
My vote would be a chimney of unlit dumped in baskets or a pile and a 1/2 to 3/4 lit dumped on top.
Adjust your vents accordingly and let her eat.
Whatcha cookin?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

addicted-to-smoke

• WKC Ambassador
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2017, 07:09:11 PM »
Some formula I forgot, like add 8 unlit coals every 20 minutes. Or 40 minutes?

Getcha a cheap oven thermometer you can leave on the cook grate away from the coals. When it starts to fall, add a few unlit coals before it falls too much. Don't add more than 8-10 at a time or you'll overshoot the target, I think. Give 'em time to light before panicking.

Vents play a role here. Depending on how many coals are present at any given time, you many be running wide open with fewer coals, or partially shut down with a lot of lit charcoal in there. The latter approach is probably easier to regulate.
It's the iconic symbol for the backyard. It's family/friends, food and fun. What more do you need to feel everything [is] going to be all right. As long as we can still have a BBQ in our backyard, the world seems a bit of a better place. At least for that moment. -reillyranch

Jon

• WKC Ranger
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2017, 11:26:29 PM »
What are you cooking that needs 350+ for 3.5 hours? Is this on a 22?