Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Recent cooks  (Read 2238 times)

RadRacer

• Smokey Joe
Recent cooks
« on: July 02, 2016, 06:18:27 AM »
Well, I've had my kettle for almost 2 months now, and have cooked burger, dogs, chicken, steaks, etc on it. Here's some of my more recent cooks:

BBQ smoked chicken breast:

This was my first attempt at smoking, and I went way too heavy with it. Smoke flavor so intense I had to cover it up with a sauce[emoji15] . Live and learn. That chicken was the juiciest chicken I've ever had though!

Grilled Pork Should blade steaks:

I already removed mine by the time I took the pic. A little salt and pepper and on the grill they went. Complimented by some potatoes as well [emoji4]

Publix apparently has their pork on sale at the moment, and I've been dying to do some longer cooks, so the girlfriend brought home a 3.4lb Pork shoulder for me. This is my first try at a long cook; I'm using the snake method with a "drip pan" full of water. It has some drippings from the pork steaks we had last night.

We'll see how it goes!

Sent from my VS987 using Tapatalk

Travis

• WKC Ambassador
Re: Recent cooks
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2016, 07:05:41 AM »
I've been grilling for maybe 10 yrs now and have screwed up so much it's unbelievable! You look like your doing a great job, bud!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Rondo

• WKC Brave
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2016, 07:36:09 AM »
I've messed up a lot,still trying to get chicken right. That's how we learn. It's an art and a passion. What sets us apart is with stay with it. Thanks for sharing.

RadRacer

• Smokey Joe
« Reply #3 on: July 02, 2016, 03:17:55 PM »
Over cooked the pork. At 5hrs I put some BBQ on it. Pulled it after 6. Cut it up and it was pretty tough. Pretty sure that means over cooked, but I'm no expert. My thermometer died, and it's looking like I need a replacement ASAP [emoji17]

DirectDrive

• WKC Ranger