Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: Feel the Burn: Our Favorite Hardwood Charcoal Brands for Summer Grilling  (Read 16069 times)

mike.stavlund

• WKC Performer
    • MikeStavlund.com
I'm just getting started with lump, and have used one bag of Royal Oak with good results.  Found a good deal on Frontier brand at BJ's (my local warehouse store) and it seems to be working pretty well.  They currently have a 34-pound bag for about 20 bucks.  Maybe I'll work up to the Wicked lump that they carry at my local Weber mecca, Village Hardware (that's in Alexandria, VA for all you DC/NoVA folks). 

I know this is common knowledge, but it is remarkable how little ash lump leaves behind. I love my Kingsford Blue, but man, does that ever have a lot of filler in it!  It is cheap, but I wonder what percentage of the total weight of KB I end up throwing away as ash.
One of the charcoal people.

1buckie

• WKC Ambassador

Dump it your garden to alkalize the soil....Anything but peppers & tomatoes will benefit from alkaline (they like acidy dirt)
Plus, that way you get some meat already built into your vegetables...... 8)
"If you want it fancy there is BBQ spray paint at home depot for that. "
    Covered, damper-controlled cooking.....IF YOU PLEASE !!!
           "But the ever versatile kettle reigned supreme"    

chriscw81

• WKC Brave
Of all the lumps I've used wicked good has been my favorite, it's a bit pricey but worth it.  Every bag of cowboy I've gotten has been really bad, about half was almost powder and unusable. I've heard quite a few folks say that Cowboy lump has been much better lately but I haven't been that lucky. Royal oak is good stuff too and my local wally world has it so I use it a lot.  My local Wegmans also has store brand lump and it good stuff that's supposedly made by royal oak.  I say don't be afraid of the store brand, it's all made by someone else anyways.

Chris

Sent from my Nexus using Tapatalk 2

Bman