Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: St. Pattys Entry -- Smoked corned beef, grilled cabbage, carrots, potatoes  (Read 1694 times)

addicted-to-smoke

• WKC Ambassador
First time attempted for smoked corned beef, or corned beef cooked any way at all outside, although the fundamentals are as with other meats. The veggies all had something different about them as well I've never done before.

I lit a few coals, not many because it's warmer now and the last time I used my WSM it ran away from me. Not an issue this time.

As it happened, it never went above 150 with that until I added more charcoal. Then, it locked onto 250 as if the gauge was stuck.:)  And I didn't even have to completely shut everything down this time. Hmm ...

The beef had been soaked in water for 2 nights, then patted dry and seasoned with Dijon mustard, freshly ground coriander and savory.

At 3 hours in it was at about 160 and I wrapped the meat. Imagine a photograph of aluminum foil here, covering something you can't see. :)

Over on the kettle I then got some veggies going. Sliced-up red potatoes and carrots, with buttah and Charlie's Choice seasoning. Indirect at about 350 between two char baskets. Worked great.

Got a free truck wash during this. And I only had to re-do one or two spots. :)

At about the 5 hour mark the meat was done, the heat was abating on the smoker so I just let it ride. The meat stayed at like 195.

With carrots and potatoes done, I wrapped and removed them. I also pulled the meat off. This stuff got placed into faux-faux cambrias. Imagine pictures here of foil-covered food either sitting in a closed microwave or closed oven.

OK, finally the cabbage. I cut a cabbage head into 8 wedges and coated them with a mixture of Dijon mustard and Rose's Lime Juice.

Wait, that's not the right picture. This one is?