Welcome, Guest

Shop Amazon.com and support the WKC | WKC T-Shirts

Author Topic: advice needed with my first st. louis rib  (Read 2884 times)

TeddyC

• Smokey Joe
advice needed with my first st. louis rib
« on: February 23, 2015, 03:48:17 PM »
Hey gang,

I have the new Mastertouch kettle adn I'm ready to do a rack of St. Louis style rib. 

generally in my WSM I'll smoke at 275* and it'll be ready in about 4 hours. 

I'd like to duplicate this method in my new kettle.

So, my question is, what's the best method for cooking for about 4 hours?  Should I go with a snake?  and if so, how should I set it up: 2/2/1 or 2/1?  And, how long should the snake be?  And, is it true that the snake should be lit counter clockwise?

Or,

should I dump a chimney of coals to one side and have the meat on the otherside/indirect?

I don't want to keep opening the lid because it takes so long to get back up to temp. 

Since this is my first time using the kettle, I want to keep it simple.   Just rub and cook.  No spritzing and no wrapping.

Thanks all
Hi, my name is Ted & I'm a smoke-aholic.
My Weapons:  Weber Smokey Mountain (Flo);
Weber Master touch 2015 (Lou Lou);

Troy

• Statesman
Re: advice needed with my first st. louis rib
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2015, 04:54:48 PM »
Congrats on the new grill!!

ALl of those methods you've mentioned will work.
It doesn't matter if you use the right side or left side, or which way the snake burns. We sometimes pretend that it matters to have fun and mess with people :)

I prefer banked coals instead of snake when cooking ribs - just so you don't have to rotate the grates for optimal indirect heat.

I would bank a full chimney of unlit, then add 10 lit briquettes to the top. It's always easier to catch the temps on the way up then it is to try to bring temps down.

You should definitely keep the lid closed, but no need to adjust plans for it. The heat actually  recovers VERY fast.

Post up some pics with you're all done!

1buckie